banner ad

Future Competitions Structure from RFU – New Leagues for Bridgwater and Albion RFC

| 24/05/2022
Many of you may know that the RFU have been undertaking a program called Future Competitions Structure. Amongst other things this has included a review of the existing leagues with a view of reducing travelling costs and increasing more local competition.
Following the review Bridgwater and Albion’s senior men’s first and second teams have remained in the same leagues as previous seasons but with some change to other teams in the leagues.
The First team will continue to compete in the same as South West One (West), that we think will be referred to as “Regional 2 South West”. The teams in the league are
Bridgwater & Albion RFC
Chard RFC
Crediton RFC
Newton Abbott RFC
North Petherton RFC
Sherborne RFC
Sidmouth RFC
St Austell RFC
Teignmouth RFC
Truro RFC
Wadebridge Camels RFC
Director of Rugby for Albion Geoff Sluman said that whilst we are sad that we will not be making trips to some of the clubs we have been playing for a number of seasons, it is also great that we have been reunited with previous clubs that we have always enjoyed visiting and had good competition with over the years.
Bridgwater & Albion Second team remain what is currently referred to as Somerset One but we think will be referred to “Counties 3 Somerset South” and will compete with:
Bridgwater & Albion II
Burnham On Sea II
Chard II
Clevedon II
Hornets III
North Petherton II
Wellington II
Wells II
Wiveliscombe II
Yeovil II
A part of the completion review also introduces a new cup competition to be completed at the end of the league campaign.
Fixtures are not yet arranged and will not be published for another few weeks but the first games will be on Saturday September 03rd so our rugby will be back before we know it.
The Women’s League structure has not yet been completed but we will share when known.

Tags: ,

Category: Club News

Comments are closed.