banner ad

Crediton 17- Bridgwater and Albion 19.

| 12/01/2020

South West One (West)

Bridgwater and Albion made it three victories on the bounce when they travelled to Mid Devon to face newly promoted Crediton where after a hard fought and close contest they came away with a narrow victory.

Making their first ever league visit to the Esplanade, after just three minutes the visitors took the lead when Jay Owens, who took over the kicking duties in the absence of Stuart Heal, slotted home a 30 metre penalty.

On13 minutes the home side got themselves onto the score sheet when hooker Luxmoore crashed over for a try whicb Avery-Wright converted.

Albion came back strongly with both Will Monro and Roger Drabble being prominent. Eventually the visitors efforts were rewarded when Crediton conceded a penalty which Owens put between the posts to make the score 7-6.

Eoghan Westhoff made a strong run deep into Crediton territory which almost saw Drabble scramble over the line. From this move the referee spotted an infringement by the hosts and awarded a penalty try to Bridgwater.

Just before the interval the visitors were very much in the ascendancy with Simon Honey, Monro and Drabble all being very much to the fore but at the break the score remained 7-13.

Bridgwater carried on creating pressure after the re-start with Honey and then Drabble creating opportunities.

Crediton however remained very much in the game and on 56 minutes Luff ran powerfully down the line before passing to Hooper who crashed over for a try which Avery-Wright converted which put the home side back in front.

Both sides were then awarded penalties which Owens and Avery-Wright both kicked to make the score 17-16 to Crediton going into the final 15 minutes of the game.

Wayne Sprangle who started on the bench then played a key part in helping Albion to make their final push for victory, which eventually came with five minutes to go when Owens kicked a 35 metre penalty.

Albion defended strongly for the last few minutes and ran out the 17-19 victors.

Bridgwater and Albion- Will Monro, Ryan Barnett, Simon Honey, Jay Owens, Roger Drabble, Oskar White, Tom Fournier D’Albe, Ethan Trebble-Westlake, George Sluman, Eoghan Westhoff, Dan Kemmish, Tom Hopkins, Sam Adcock, Gavin Knight and Matt Ranson.

Replacements- Lewis Phillips and Wayne Sprangle (both used) and Ross Mark (not used).

Tags: ,

Category: Previews / Reports -XV

Comments are closed.